
Minnesota Department of Corrections 
  
Policy: 201.110 
Title: Juvenile Probation Supervision 
Effective Date: 12/5/17 
  
PURPOSE: To ensure uniform standards for pre- and post-dispositional probation services for 
juveniles. 
  
APPLICABILITY: Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC); Community Corrections Act (CCA), 
and County Probation Office (CPO); agents supervising juveniles in the community 
  
DEFINITIONS: 
Agent – an employee in the job classification of state corrections agent, county probation officer, and 
CCA corrections agent. 
  
Social history or predisposition report – a report provided to the court for the purpose of determining the 
most appropriate disposition alternatives for juveniles.  Predisposition reports are only to be prepared by 
order of the court. 
  
PROCEDURES: 
A. General procedures 

1. Agents must provide to the court all predisposition/social history reports based on prior 
history and level of risk and needs in the youth level of service/case management inventory 
2.0 (YLS/CMI 2.0) prior to disposition, juvenile supervision, and out-of-home placement 
recommendations and referral.   

 
2. All juveniles placed on probation must be assigned to an agent and supervised until 

discharged or transferred to another agent.   
 
3. The agent must establish initial contact with the juvenile within 24-hours of release from 

placement and/or within ten business days of notification of placement on probation, 
whichever is less.   

 
4. The agent must establish with the juvenile that the role of probation is to monitor the 

conditions of the court, but also work with the juvenile and the juvenile’s family on areas 
that may reduce the juvenile’s likelihood of continued involvement in the criminal justice 
system.   

 
5. The agent must furnish written conditions of supervision to the juvenile and 

parents/guardians, and obtain signed acknowledgement.   
 
6. Only one agent is assigned to any juvenile, irrespective of the number of conviction 

offenses.   
 
7. Juvenile supervision includes contacts with the youth and family during regular business 

hours and non-traditional hours such as visits to the home, school, employment, and other 
settings.   

 



8. Agents may also be called upon to address a variety of issues involving juveniles under 
probation supervision during non-traditional hours. 

 
B. Mental health screening 

1. Mental health screens must be conducted on youth ages 10 – 18 when: 
a) The youth has been found to be delinquent; 
b) The youth has been found to have committed a juvenile petty offense for the third 

or subsequent offense, per Minn. Stat. §260B.235, subd. 6; 
c) The youth is alleged to have committed a delinquent act and has had an initial 

detention hearing, with the court ordering the child continued in detention, per 
Minn. Stat. §260B.176, subd. 2 and §260B.178, subd. 1 (in this case, the agent 
must assure the detention center completes the screen and forwards a copy to the 
agent);  

d) A child is in out-of-home placement; or 
e) There is written informed consent from the parent or legal guardian before a 

screening is conducted. 
f) Exemption criteria: 
 There is an exemption from the mental health screening when: 

(1) Screening or diagnostic assessment has been performed within the previous 
180 days; 

(2) The youth is under the care of a mental health professional; 
(3) A parent or legal guardian prevents the screening in writing to the court, 

county, or tribal agency; 
(4) Agents are unable to locate the youth; 
(5) Case management is closed within 30 days of opening; 
(6) The youth is receiving mental health case management; and/or 
(7) The youth is in extended jurisdiction status. 
 

2. DOC agents serving the juvenile courts must complete mental health screens on youth who 
meet the criteria in Procedure A.1., sections a) through e).  The screening tools approved 
for youth in the juvenile justice system are: 
a) Massachusetts Youth Screening Instrument Version 2 (MAYSI-2); and 
b) Problem Oriented Screening Instrument for Teenagers (POSIT). 
 

3. Agents must utilize one of the approved instruments in completing the screens.  Agents 
must refer juveniles determined to be in need of services to an appropriate mental health 
professional or the county human services agency.  DOC agents must work together with 
county human services agencies to accomplish compliance with Minn. Stat. §260B.157, 
subd. 1. 

 
C. Predisposition reports 

1. Upon receiving an order from the court to prepare a predisposition report, the agent must 
complete a Notice to Victims of Offenses Committed by Juveniles (Court Services 
Tracking System (CSTS) form) and send it, along with a Victim’s Affidavit of Restitution 
(CSTS form) and Victim Impact Statement (attached), to the victim(s), via first class mail.  
If the victim(s) does not respond within 14 days, the corrections agent must attempt to 
telephone the victim(s). 

  
2. The agent must explain the Privacy Act Statement (CSTS form) to the juvenile and 

parent/guardian prior to interview.  The juvenile and parent/ guardian must sign the 



Privacy Act Statement and the Authorization for Release of Information (CSTS form), as 
needed. 

  
3. The format for Juvenile Pre-Disposition Reports (CSTS form) generally addresses the 

risk/need areas on the YLS/CMI 2.0: 
a) Legal and objective information, including the juvenile’s name, address, birth date, 

race, county, and name of the sentencing judge.  
b) Current offense: provide detailed statement of the offense(s), including the date, 

time, place, accomplices, seriousness of the offense, and opinions of law 
enforcement (if pertinent).  

c) Juvenile's version:   The juvenile's statement regarding the offense.   
(1) Field services staff may request the juvenile to submit a written statement, 

which must be included verbatim in the report.   
(2) This section must also include the juvenile's attitude toward the offense, the 

pertinent events occurring prior to the offense, and the accomplices, 
including his/her role in the offense.  

d) Victim statement: a brief account of victim damages or harm suffered.   
(1) This includes a summary of the damages, harm, or any other problems 

generated by the offense, a concise statement of what disposition the victim 
deems appropriate, including reasons (if any), and an attachment to the 
report consisting of the victim’s written objections (if any) to the proposed 
disposition.   

(2) If the victim(s) does not respond to attempts made to gain input, the agent 
must note the attempts made to contact the victim(s).  

e) Prior record: list past offenses, date of offenses, and court dispositions, detailing the 
significant offenses.  

f) Placement history: chronologically list any previous out-of-home placements, 
including foster care, shelter care, group home, residential, and detention 
placements.  

g) Family history: provide basic family background information, including parent and 
sibling information.  Include a summary of risk factors, as well as any family 
strengths also identified.  

h) Education/employment: briefly summarize current school situation.   
(1) Note future academic or vocational goals.   
(2) Describe current employment status and a brief employment history.   
(3) Include summary of risk factors, as well as any education/employment 

strengths also identified.  
i) Peer relations: include a summary of risk factors, as well as any strengths 

identified.  
j) Substance abuse: give a brief summary of the juvenile's chemical dependency (CD) 

intervention or treatment history.   
(1) Include the juvenile's use history and current pattern of use.   
(2) Also include a summary of risk factors, as well as any strengths also 

identified.  
k) Leisure/recreation: list all groups, clubs, or organizations the juvenile belongs to.  

List hobbies and interests the juvenile actively pursues.  Include risk factors, as 
well as any strengths identified.  

l) Personality/behavior: briefly summarize previous or current mental health 
counseling, diagnoses, or need for medication.   



(1) Include past and present suicide attempts or ideation.  Include information 
regarding physical and sexual abuse.   

(2) Include risk factors, as well as any strengths identified.  
m) Attitudes/orientation: include risk factors, as well as any strengths also identified.  
n) Final assessment: provide a brief summary or rationale for the recommendations, 

taking into consideration the criminogenic risk factors that are most predictive of 
his/her involvement in criminality, community safety, restorative accountability, 
and competency development.  

o) Recommendation: provide specific recommendations to the court based upon 
rationale. 

  
4. The agent must submit the report to the supervisor for review.  Reports recommending out-

of-home placement of the child require supervisory signature. 
 
5. The agent must submit the report to the court as directed by the court to comply with the 

juvenile court rules, however, no later than 30 days of being ordered.  The agent must 
ensure that the confidentiality of the report is maintained. 

  
6. Predisposition reports must only be forwarded to the juvenile’s placement, if the court 

orders confinement in a DOC correctional facility. 
  
7. Predisposition reports may be used to assist the agent in evaluating the juvenile and family 

when placed under supervision. 
  

D. Juvenile probation supervision 
1. The district supervisor or designee (in state contract counties) must assign juvenile 

probation supervision cases.   
 
2. The supervisor of juvenile services must assign juvenile probation supervision cases in 

Community Corrections Act (CCA) and Minn. Stat. Ch. 260 counties.   
 
3. If a predisposition report was not completed on the juvenile, a Juvenile Face Sheet 

(attached) must be completed by the agent within 30 days of disposition. 
 
4. Case contacts with the juvenile must be periodically conducted at the juvenile’s home, 

place of employment or school, in the agent’s office, or at other appropriate places. 
a) The agent must allow the option of informing the juvenile and the juvenile’s family 

of the YLS/CMI 2.0 results to help them understand the behavior patterns 
evidenced by the juvenile, and seek clarification on any identified criminogenic 
factors.  

b) The agent must give the juvenile the Grievance Procedure (CSTS form) on initial 
contact and ensure that the juvenile understands the statement.  

c) Juveniles placed on supervision must be photographed.   
(1) The photographs are electronically saved in CSTS.   
(2) Photographs are classified as private data.  

d) Contacts may also be conducted with other persons interested in the juvenile’s 
welfare, such as employers, relatives, friends, school officials, clergy, welfare, and 
other agencies.  The agent must maintain data practices standards in these contacts.  



e) Agents must ensure juveniles comply with all Minnesota laws pertaining to 
registration and must monitor continued compliance throughout the period of 
supervision.  

f) The agent must maintain a written record of visits and contacts regarding the 
juvenile.  This record must present an evaluation of the juvenile’s progress and 
adjustment under supervision and is used as a basis for determining further 
supervision strategies.  Record keeping of the chronological case record must be 
completed as follows: 
(1) Enter the date of contact under the “date” column; 
(2) Enter the “chrono” type per CSTS; and 
(3) The focus on the contact must be based on a risk/need domain change talk, 

any ambivalence, barriers to change, progress on goals worked on, and 
motivational interviewing (MI) principles used.  This information, along 
with other notable developments or changes, requires the agent to update 
the status of special conditions and the Case Plan () CSTS form.  

g) The agent must participate in the initial and ongoing staffings held for juveniles in 
placement.   
(1) Exceptions must only be made with supervisory approval.   
(2) The agent must conduct a YLS/CMI 2.0 assessment, if not completed 

within the last six months, and develop a case plan to address identified 
criminogenic areas. 

  
5. File maintenance 

Agents must clearly identify the source, verification, and confidentiality of the materials in 
the case file.  Each file must be divided into four sections: 
a) Section one: 

(1) Probation Agreement – Juvenile (attached, on top); 
(2) Face Sheet, if applicable; 
(3) Assessment (supervision level classification); 
(4) Case Plan; 
(5) Privacy Act Statement; 
(6) Record checks; 
(7) Community work service verification/Sentence to Service 

referrals/restitution/certificate of restitution/fine receipts; and 
(8) Authorizations (on bottom).  

b) Section two: 
(1) Chronological case record (on top); 
(2) Juvenile Progress or Violation Reports (attached)/case updates; 
(3) Alcohol assessments; 
(4) Urinalysis test results; 
(5) Referrals to Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) victim impact panel; 
(5) Juvenile questionnaires; and 
(6) Any confidential information.  

c) Section three: 
(1) Correspondence; 
(2) Monthly reports; 
(3) School – grades; 
(4) Alcoholics Anonymous (AA)/Narcotics Anonymous (NA) attendance 

verification slips; 
(5) Travel permits; and 



(6) Miscellaneous file materials.  
d) Section four: 

(1) Petitions/complaints; 
(2) Police reports; 
(3) Violation Reports/Pre-Dispositional Reports; 
(4) Letters notifying police of court-ordered probation; 
(5) Discharges; 
(6) All court documents; and 
(7) Incoming transfer requests. 
  

6. Risk/need/responsivity assessments (YLS/CMI 2.0) must be completed as follows: 
a) Juveniles under probation supervision for a petty-misdemeanor offense do not 

require an assessment and are classified as minimum risk. 
b) Agents must administer a prescreen to all juveniles placed on probation or parole 

supervision for a delinquency within 30 days of disposition or case assignment.   
(1) A prescreen score of zero-two does not require the completion of a full 

risk/need/responsivity assessment and the juvenile is placed on minimum 
supervision.   

(2) When a prescreen score is three or more, a full risk/need/responsivity 
assessment must be completed to determine a juvenile's risk/need level 
within 30 days of disposition or case assignment. 

c) Agents must complete a risk/need/responsivity assessment within 30 days of a 
juvenile's discharge from placement to the community, if one has not been 
completed by the placement agency at least 30 days prior to discharge.  The agent 
must formulate a Juvenile Case Plan within 30 days of the juvenile returning to the 
community from placement. 

d) Agents must reassess using the risk/need/responsivity assessment at the initial six-
month interval, and then at least annually thereafter until the juvenile is classified 
as administrative/paper.   
(1) Upon each assessment, the juvenile and family are provided the option of 

reviewing the results.   
(2) Notwithstanding the six month requirement, agents must consider the need 

for a reassessment during each client contact.   
(3) Reassessments are not required on administrative/paper supervision cases, 

unless new charges arise or problematic behavior occurs.  
e) Professional overrides may be recommended to increase or decrease risk/need level 

upon supervisory approval. 
f) The supervision contact levels based on the risk/need/responsivity assessment for 

focusing on addressing criminogenic risk factors identified in the YLS/CMI 2.0 and 
conditions are as follows: 
(1) Enhanced supervision (high to very high on the YLS/CMI risk/need 

assessment; 22-42 for males and 20-42 for females): 
(a) Phase I 

i) A minimum of one face-to-face contact per week must 
occur.  Two of these contacts per month must occur at the 
juvenile’s residence. 

ii) Where available and appropriate, juveniles must be referred 
to cognitive behavioral programming. 

iii) Contacts while facilitating groups must count toward these 
standards. 



iv) Phase I continues for a minimum of six months.  The 
juvenile must not be moved to phase II until the juvenile is 
making positive progress toward completion of the juvenile’s 
Case Plan. 

v) Juveniles may be required to provide daily schedules. 
vi) Electronic home monitoring and curfews may be included as 

an additional structure during this phase if ordered by the 
court or the hearings and release unit (HRU). 

vii) Return to probation or parole following revocation must 
result in the juvenile starting over in phase I. 

viii) Agents must complete a six-month Progress Report. 
(b) Phase II 

i) A minimum of two face-to-face contacts per month must 
occur.  Of these contacts one must occur in the home. 

ii) The juvenile must continue to make positive progress on the 
juvenile’s Case Plan. 

iii) Phase II continues for up to six months. 
iv) Transfer to the next level of supervision is dependent on an 

YLS/CMI 2.0 reassessment reflecting a sore of 21 or less for 
males, and 19 or less for females. 

v) Upon completion of phase II, the juvenile is transferred to an 
appropriate level of supervision based on the YLS/CMI 2.0 
score. 

vi) In no case is a juvenile transferred from the enhanced 
supervision caseload if the juvenile has had a violation 
within the past six months. 

vii) Agents must complete a six-month Progress Report. 
(2) Medium supervision (moderate risk on risk/need scores; 10-21 for juvenile 

males and 8-19 for juvenile females) 
The agent must have at least one face-to-face juvenile contact every 30 days 
and collateral contact as necessary. 

(3) Minimum supervision (low on risk/need scores; 0-9 for juvenile males and 
0-7 for juvenile females) 
The agent must have at least one face-to-face juvenile contact every 90 days 
and collateral contact as necessary to monitor compliance with special 
conditions.  If conditions are met at 90 days, with supervisor approval, the 
agent may move the juvenile to administrative/paper supervision. 

(4) Placements, new, courtesy, absconder, administrative (all types), and 
unclassified must account for juveniles whose statuses do not fit into the 
active supervision categories of enhanced, medium, and minimum. 

(5) Unsupervised probation 
A case placed on unsupervised probation by the district court does not 
receive services from the department.  CCA and Minn. Stat. Ch. 260 
counties may develop their own policies covering the use of this 
classification of juveniles.  

g) Termination from supervision 
When the court has approved and ordered discharge, the discharge must be entered 
into CSTS.  

h) Workload measurement 



Workload is managed by an automated system.  The agent must provide data on 
new cases and report responsibilities to the staff that manage the system. 

  
7. Juvenile Case Plans 

a) The juvenile Case Plan, along with the risk/need responsivity assessment and 
Juvenile Probation Agreement, provides the focus for case management and 
supervision planning.   
(1) Agents must develop a juvenile Case Plan for all juveniles assessed at 

enhanced supervision levels, according to the risk/need responsivity 
assessments.   

(2) Agents are encouraged to develop case plans on medium supervision cases 
based on a juvenile’s identified criminogenic risk/needs.   

(3) The juvenile Case Plan form must be used and completed within 60 days of 
the juvenile being placed on supervision.   

(4) Juvenile and parent/guardian input must be considered in the formulation of 
the Case Plan and signature(s) obtained upon establishment of a new goal.  
The juvenile; the juvenile’s parent/guardian, if in attendance; and the 
supervising agent must review the Case Plan strategies at each visit.   

(5) The agent must adjust the Case Plan according to the needs and 
performance of the juvenile.   

  c) The Case Plan is maintained in CSTS 
b) The format for the juvenile Case Plan is as follows: 

(1) Assets/strengths: list the juvenile's assets, strengths, and supports as 
identified during the risk/need responsivity assessment interview and/or 
with collateral contacts. 

(2) Priority targets: prioritize the risk/need/responsivity assessment domains 
requiring attention; keeping in mind attitudes/orientation, companions, and 
pattern of anti-social behavior are the strongest indicators of risk to re-
offend. 

(3) Goals: focus on a maximum of two goal areas identified in the Case Plan 
that focus on asset building and reducing criminogenic needs identified in 
the YLS/CMI 2.0.  The agent must work with the juvenile on completing 
and abiding by court conditions, but if the conditions are not directly related 
to a criminogenic factor, the conditions do not suffice as a Case Plan goal. 

(4) Goal description: develop realistic goals with the juvenile which are short, 
measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely (SMART) that address or 
inhibit a criminogenic risk/need. 

(5) Date goal initiated: the date the goal was first developed with the juvenile. 
(6) Action: start date. 
(7) Task: the specific steps to be taken in order to accomplish the goal. 
(8) Action steps: an activity which may be accomplished within a few days or 

by the next visit until the goal is completed. 
(9) Responsibility: identify who is responsible for completing the task (e.g., 

juvenile, probation officer, mental health center, or school). 
(10) Target date: date task is to be completed. 
(11) Contingencies/comments: list motivation, incentives, rewards and/or 

benefits that must be achieved after completing the task. 
(12) Review date and status: indicate the date the task was reviewed with the 

juvenile and its status (achieved, partially achieved, satisfactory progress, or 
unsatisfactory progress). 



(13) Completion date. 
 

8. Case reviews 
a) Purpose: the purpose of the case review is to assist the agent in problem solving, 

case planning, classification and general discussion.   
(1) Case reviews are to assure the supervisor that cases are being supervised in 

accordance with DOC standards, policies, and procedures.   
(2) Case reviews contribute substantially to the agent's annual performance 

evaluation.  
b) Procedure: the procedure for case reviews consists of a discussion between agent 

and supervisor regarding the caseload in general and also individual specific cases.   
(1) The supervisor, on the basis of the agent’s needs, workload, and experience 

determines the extent of the review.   
(2) With newer agents, the review is likely more extensive and may take on a 

training function.   
(3) With experienced agents, the extent of the review is determined by the 

individual supervisor.  
c) Frequency: the case review is on an ongoing process.  It is expected that each 

agent's caseload be reviewed a minimum of at least annually. 
d) Copies of case audits must be retained in the employee’s supervisory file.  
  

9. Administrative reductions 
a) Purpose: administrative reductions provide a means for supervisors and agents to 

agree upon changes in client supervision levels when an agent’s workload exceeds 
the level which may be supervised during the time available. 

b) Required supervision level: agents are expected to provide client supervision in 
accordance with established standards for the client's administratively reduced 
classification level.  

c) Recording: administrative reductions in supervision level must not be reflected as 
reductions in classification in CSTS, but rather CSTS is to reflect the level of 
supervision the client ought to receive if workloads permitted.  

d) Frequency: agent workloads fluctuate from month to month and cannot be 
maintained exactly at the optimal level.   
(1) Supervisors are expected to be aware of these fluctuations and review high 

caseloads regularly for administrative reduction.   
(2) Agents may also take the initiative at any time in requesting supervisory 

approval for administrative reductions.  
e) Procedures: the classification system must be used to provide the initial point of 

review for changes in supervision.  Supervisors and agents are to utilize the 
following steps when reducing the caseload points; however, reduction in 
supervision levels are not to be automatic on the basis of established priorities.  
Each case is to be reviewed for appropriateness and professional judgment 
exercised. 
(1) Review all cases for legitimate reclassification based upon changes in the 

client's reduction in criminogenic factors that are strongly correlated with 
ongoing criminal behavior. 

(2) Review minimum and medium cases for possible administrative reductions. 
(3) Review all non-person offender enhanced cases for possible administrative 

reductions. 
(4) Review all remaining enhanced cases for possible administrative reductions. 



(5) Note: enhanced cases whose current offense is an offense against a person 
may not be administratively reduced during the first six months of 
supervision. 

  
10. Supervision consultation 

When the court or district supervisor is not available for consultation regarding supervision 
decisions, the agent may contact the officer-of-the-day (OD).  This may be considered only 
when a situation is critical and urgency is needed. 

  
11. Probation agreement 

When applicable, the agent must prepare a Probation Agreement (CSTS form).  The agent 
must inform the parent/guardian of the probation conditions and must provide a copy of 
the Probation Agreement. 

  
12. Per Minn. Stat. §260B.171, subd. 3, the agent must provide a copy of the juvenile court 

disposition order and a completed Juvenile School Adjudication Notice (CSTS form) to the 
superintendent or chief administrative officer of the juvenile's school, when the juvenile 
has been adjudicated for an offense committed on school property or an offense specified 
in Minn. Stat. §260B.171, subd. 3.   
(1) The standard notice form contains a listing of these offenses, and must be used for 

school notification by all department offices.   
(2) A copy of the notice must be provided to the juvenile's parent/guardian and a copy 

must be retained in the probation file.  Minn. Stat. §260B.171, subd. 3 further 
authorizes juvenile probation agents to transmit a copy of the juvenile disposition 
order to the superintendent or chief administrative officer of the juvenile's school in 
matters where notification is not mandatory.   

(3) In these cases, however, the agent must also notify the school when the juvenile is 
discharged from probation. 

  
13. Collection of payment for court-ordered restitution, fines, court costs, attorney fees, etc. is 

not handled by the department.  Payment by juveniles must be made to, and disbursed by 
the court administrator or as otherwise directed by the court. 

  
14. Intrastate transfer of juvenile cases 

a) For those counties using CSTS, all intrastate transfer requests, transfer of case 
assignments and related communications must use the electronic transfer feature 
within CSTS.  
(1) Condition statuses, addresses, employment, predatory offender information, 

and chronos are updated within CSTS prior to the initiation of the transfer 
process.   

(2) When policy directs electronic activity in CSTS, it is understood that 
Hennepin County accomplishes the procedure by postal mail, e-mail, or 
telephone. 

b) Transfer eligibility 
juveniles who are on probation for a delinquency or EJJ offense are eligible for 
transfer when the juvenile:  
(1) Has a period of no less than 90 days of probation remaining;  
(2) Is residing with a parent/legal guardian or another suitable adult via a 

family arrangement;  



(3) Has no pending court matters and is in compliance with probation at the 
time of transfer request; 

(4) Is assessed as medium or high risk within the last six months by the sending 
county using a current, validated risk/needs assessment or a detailed 
narrative which clearly articulates why the juvenile must be supervised in 
the receiving county; 

(5) Is assessed as low risk within the last six months by the sending county 
using a current, validated risk/needs assessment or a detailed narrative 
which clearly articulates why the juvenile must be supervised in the 
receiving county, and has unsatisfied conditions remaining other than 
general conditions of probation, such as: 
(a) To remain law abiding; 
(b) Avoidance of same or similar behaviors; 
(c) Attend school daily; 
(d) Abide by curfew; 
(e) Obtain permission before leaving state; 
(f) Keep probation officer informed of whereabouts and activities; 
(g) Report to probation officer as directed; 
(h) To cooperate and be truthful with the probation officer; or 
(i) Avoidance of mood-altering substance use without court-ordered 

testing; and/or 
(6) Is in permanent, long-term foster care and the relevant supervisors in the 

sending and receiving counties agree to the transfer prior to a transfer 
request being initiated. 

(7) Exceptions/Qualifications 
(a) Stand-alone diversion, juvenile petty, pretrial, and continuance for 

dismissal offenses are not eligible for transfer.  The only exception 
would be petty offenses with outstanding special conditions of 
probation may be transferred along with companion cases which 
meet eligibility for transfer; 

(b) Delinquency cases with a stay of adjudication must comply with 
state statute in order to be eligible for transfer; 

(c) Juveniles in out-of-home placement are not eligible for transfer; 
(d) All statutory requirements such as DNA, predatory offender 

registration (POR), and dispositional advisory notice to the school 
must be completed by the sending county prior to transfer; and 

(e) Courtesy supervision is not subject to this policy. 
b) Transfer investigation process:  

(1) A Transfer Investigation Request (Form 269 attached) is initiated by 
accessing the transfer wizard in CSTS upon learning of and confirming the 
juvenile’s move to another county. 

(2) To the extent possible, the sending county must verify the existence and 
legitimacy of the proposed residence prior to submitting a transfer request. 

(3) The Transfer Investigation Request (these documents must be selected in 
the transfer wizard to be forwarded to the receiving county) includes: 
(a) Completed form 269 and required attachments; 
(b) Signed, legible probation agreement, where applicable; 
(c) All relevant dispositional court orders; 
(d) Appropriate assessments/evaluations, including risk/need 

assessment; 



(e) Mental health screen; 
(f) Updated status information on each condition for every transferring 

file; 
(g) Current POR; 
(h) Balances on unpaid financial obligations; 
(i) Chronological case record of the past year; 
(j) Predisposition investigations; 
(k) Recent, relevant Progress Reports, Violation Reports, and sanction 

conferencing agreements;  
(l) Complaints, police reports; 
(m) Victim information; 
(n) Updated legal history; 
(o) Current photo, if available; 
(p) Explanation of non-provided information; and  
(q) A summary of adjustment to date. 

(4) The receiving county must: 
(a) Identify and electronically request information perceived to be 

missing or needed, in addition to that provided; 
(b) Electronically advise the sending county of the name and telephone 

number or e-mail address of the assigned agent; 
(c) Conduct a home study in cases where the proposed residence is not 

with a parent, legal guardian, or permanent foster care; 
(d) Return a Reply to Transfer Investigation Request (TIR) (attached) 

within 30 days or advise the sending county electronically of the 
status of the investigation; and 

(e) If the receiving county accepts supervision, the receiving county 
places the juvenile in the county’s database with a status to indicate 
the identity of the new agent in the Statewide Supervision System.  
Supervision jurisdiction transfers to the receiving agent at this point. 

(5) The sending agent: 
(a) Upon receipt of a reply to TIR accepting supervision, electronically 

send any new file material not previously sent to the receiving agent; 
and 

(b) Places the juvenile in the county’s database with a status that maps 
to a transfer status in the Statewide Supervision System upload.  The 
agent must verify the juvenile’s supervision is accurately reflected in 
the Statewide Supervision System. 

(6) Juveniles referred for transfer must not be denied transfer because of: 
(a) A single positive drug test; or 
(b) A single missed appointment. 

(7) The agent in the receiving county must make a diligent effort to establish 
contact and to assess the proposed plan.  

(8) The relevant supervisor in the receiving county must approve all denied 
transfer requests. 

c) Supervision 
(1) The juvenile must be supervised in accordance with the receiving county’s 

policies and procedures for supervision.   
(2) Any fees or costs for services are determined and assessed by the receiving 

county. 



(3) If a juvenile moves from one county to a second county and later to a third 
county, it is the responsibility of the second county to arrange the transfer to 
the third county, since the agent in the second county is the agent of record.   
(a) Similarly, if a juvenile moves from one county to a second and later 

to another state, it is the responsibility of the second county to 
arrange the interstate transfer.   

(b) Once the third county or other state has accepted the juvenile, the 
originating county must be notified via a copy of form 279. 

(4) If a juvenile moves from a sending county to a receiving county and later 
returns to the sending county, the receiving county must verify the 
juvenile’s residence in the sending county before returning supervision via 
form 269.   
(a) For those counties not utilizing the electronic transfer wizard, a 

progress report update must be provided which addresses the 
juvenile’s adjustment since transfer and compliance with conditions.   

(b) If the juvenile is in violation status, a violation report must also 
accompany form 269. 

(5) If a juvenile moves from one county to a second county, becomes ineligible 
for transfer pursuant to this policy during residency in the second county, 
and moves to a third county, the current probation officer must confer with 
the originating county about whether to recommend discharge from 
probation or return supervision to the originating county via form 279. 

(6) If a juvenile violates the conditions of supervision, subsequent to the 
transfer of supervision: 
(a) The supervising agent in the receiving county must submit a 

violation report to the corrections agency in the sending county; 
(b) The sending county must prepare orders and distribute the violation 

report according to the practice of the sending county; 
(c) Supervision may be returned to the sending county only: 

i) After 60 days have lapsed with no communication from the 
sending county;  

ii) The court in the sending county has issued a warrant for the 
juvenile and the juvenile is not apprehended within 60 days; 
or 

iii) The juvenile is deported; and 
(d) If supervision is continued, the agent in the sending county must 

advise the agent in the receiving county of the court’s ruling and 
provide documentation available from the court. 

(7) Discharges 
(a) The receiving county may transfer supervision of a juvenile back to 

the sending county by using form 279 when: 
i) The juvenile has satisfied all conditions of probation; 
ii) The juvenile has met the condition for discharge in the 

receiving county; 
iii) A report recommending discharge has been submitted; and  
iv) The correction agency in the sending county has advised it 

does not permit early discharge. 
(b) If the sentencing court in the sending county refuses to discharge a 

juvenile, the receiving county must continue to supervise the 



juvenile according to the supervision standards of the receiving 
county. 

(c) If the receiving county recommends discharge, the receiving county 
may not close the case or return it to the sending county until the 
receiving county has received notice from the supervision authority 
in the sending county or 60 days has lapsed without communication 
from the sending county. 

d) Dispute resolution 
When there is a dispute relative to transfer, agents must attempt to resolve matters 
by referring to the processes and standards identified in this policy.  If the agents 
are unable to do so, the agents must refer the matter to the agents’ respective 
supervisors.   
 

15. Progress Reports 
Probation Progress Reports (CSTS form) must be presented to the court and 
supervisors/designee.  A Progress Report provides a brief summary of adjustment made by 
the juvenile in addressing criminogenic factors and court conditions since the last review 
and recommend modifications (and the reasons for the modifications) to the existing court 
order, continued supervision, or discharge. 
a) Progress Reports must be prepared at court request or, at a minimum, once every 

six months (Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Procedure, 15.06).   
(1) The agent may initiate a Progress Report to recommend discharge.   
(2) The Progress Report recommending discharge must summarize the 

juvenile's performance in addressing criminogenic factors and court 
conditions during the entire period of supervision.   

(3) The agent must submit probation evaluations to the court one month before 
the juvenile’s 19th birthday (or 21st birthday, if extended juvenile 
jurisdiction (EJJ) status).  

b) The agent must use the Progress Report for probation evaluation.  The format is as 
follows: 
(1) In the adjustment section, list the special conditions of probation and the 

extent to which the conditions have been met.   
(a) Describe areas (domains) on the risk/need/responsivity assessment 

where a reduction/increase in risk has occurred between initial 
assessment and reassessment, and to the extent possible, explain 
why.   

(b) Summarize the juvenile's progress since the last review.   
(c) Include an explanation of goals (as outlined in the Case Plan) that were 

developed and the status of those goals (achieved, partially achieved, not 
achieved, satisfactory progress, or unsatisfactory progress). 

(2) Provide a brief summary or rationale for continued probation supervision or 
discharge. 

(3) Provide a specific recommendation to the court. 
  

16. A probation violation occurs when the juvenile fails to meet the conditions of probation.   
a) This may necessitate a modification of probation conditions and/or violation 

hearing.   
b) A violation hearing is initiated only after the agent and supervisor/designee confer, 

review the current circumstances, and conclude that violation is appropriate.   



c) If modification of the Probation Agreement is a less restrictive alternative and is 
deemed appropriate by the court, the agent must exercise the agent’s authority to do 
so. 

d) New offense violations result in juvenile court proceedings, whenever possible. 
(1) The agent must immediately investigate all arrests, petitions, and alleged 

violations of probation conditions. 
(2) The agent and supervisor/designee must review all alleged violations of 

probation conditions to determine the action required. 
(3) Minor violations are resolved by the agent. 
(4) If the juvenile admits to a new offense to the agent and/or the agent 

concludes that sufficient evidence exists to support a finding of violation, 
the agent may initiate a probation violation hearing in accordance with 
statute, rules of the court, and/or another legal authority, as well as 
requesting a petition to be drawn up by the county attorney. 

(5) Alleged violations of probation conditions must be reported to the court, 
subject to the supervisor’s review.  The agent must be prepared to make a 
recommendation to the court if there is a finding of a violation.  Any 
recommendation made to the court must include supporting justification as 
to final action or resolution. 

(6) Alternatives to confinement intervention measures must be considered to 
the extent that public safety and/or the best interest of the juvenile are not 
endangered and the possibility of successful community adjustment exists.  

e) Technical violations of probation conditions are acts not constituting a new offense.  
Absconding from supervision, curfew violations, failure to comply with court 
order, and truancy are considered technical violations. 
(1) Recovered absconders who have not committed new offenses and are not 

viewed as an undue risk to the public or themselves may be restored to 
active supervision unless prohibited by statute. 

(2) A formal court hearing for a technical violation only occurs when it is not 
possible to respond to the violation through the modification of probation 
conditions and/or intermediate sanctions. 

(3) When a probation violation hearing is conducted and a technical violation is 
found to have been committed, the juvenile may still remain on probation.  
Prior to initiating probation violation hearings for technical violations, the 
agent and supervisor must address the following questions: 
(a) Is the violation part of a recurring pattern of violations or a 

relatively isolated event; 
(b) Is it possible for the violation to be addressed through less restrictive 

sanctions or untried remedies in the community; and 
(c) What action/treatment is needed to address the underlying causes of 

the violation?  
f) Violation Reports must be completed on the Violation Report and the Order of the 

Court for Defendant’s Appearance (CSTS form) to inform the court, supervisor, 
public defender or privately retained attorney, and other state or intrastate 
jurisdiction of the alleged violation(s) and the juvenile's overall adjustment while 
on probation.  The report must be submitted, as per court policy, immediately after 
an investigation has been made to determine the facts of an alleged or proven 
violation.  The reports must be completed as follows: 



(1) Prior record - list past offenses, dates of offenses, and court dispositions, 
detailing the significant offenses, (the current expiration date is the 
juvenile's 19th birthday); 

(2) Current offense - gives a brief description of the current offense, including 
all special conditions of probation; 

(3) Special conditions - list court-ordered special conditions for current offense; 
(4) Violations - list each alleged violation separately and provide information to 

support the allegation; 
(5) Adjustment - briefly discuss measures the agent and juvenile have taken to 

reduce identified risks and needs.  Include an explanation of developed 
goals and the status of those goals.  Provide a brief chronological summary 
as to how the juvenile has done during probation supervision (school, 
employment, psychological or physical conditions), resources or service 
providers involved with the juvenile(s) and/or family; 

(6) Recommendation rationale - summarize efforts to redirect the juvenile's 
behavior.  Note possible alternatives to redirect the juvenile.  Note 
community safety concerns.  This section must provide explanation for the 
recommendation, and take into account the juvenile's areas of 
high/moderate risk, strengths, responsivity factors, what works, and the 
balanced approach; 

(7) Recommendation - provide recommendations, including specific options for 
the court if violation is found; and 

(8) Supervisory signature is required on all Violation Reports where a 
recommendation for out-of-home placement is made by the agent. 

 
17. Discharge reports 

Discharges and the types of discharges are determined by the court.  The agent makes 
recommendations for discharges in the Juvenile Discharge Report (CSTS form). 
a) The agent, with supervisor approval, may recommend early termination of 

probation when the juvenile has demonstrated successful adjustment to probation, 
is assessed to be low risk on a risk/needs/responsivity assessment, and has met all 
special and general conditions of probation and has demonstrated stability in terms 
of home adjustment, school attendance, employment, and social relationships.  The 
discharge recommendation must be prepared summarizing the performance of the 
juvenile during the entire period of supervision. 

b) The juvenile may be discharged to another authority in instances when a juvenile 
has been sentenced by the adult court or has received a new disposition in juvenile 
court.  

c) If the juvenile reaches expiration, the agent must complete a Juvenile Discharge 
Report recommending discharge within 30 days of expiration.  The Discharge 
Report must include a summary of the juvenile’s performance of the entire period 
of supervision. 

d) If the juvenile dies, the agent must submit a Juvenile Discharge Report listing the 
cause of death.   
(1) The agent must exercise sensitivity in determining whether the notice of 

discharge is sent to the family.   
(2) The determination to send the notice of discharge must be at the agent’s 

discretion. 
e) The juvenile’s physical base file is retained until the juvenile is discharged from 

probation.  



  
18. Apprehension and detention orders:  

a) Apprehension and detention orders (CSTS forms) provide written authority for 
probation officers or law enforcement agencies to apprehend and/or detain a 
juvenile under department supervision.   

b) Apprehension orders must be used sparingly and only when a judge is not 
available.   

c) The order must be authorized by a district supervisor.  If the supervisor is not 
available, the agent must issue the order and notify the supervisor as soon as 
possible.   

d) A Violation Report must be prepared and submitted to the court as soon as 
possible.   

e) Juveniles may be detained up to 72 hours, excluding weekends and holidays.  
f) Agents must cooperate with law enforcement agencies, as necessary, to apprehend 

juveniles known to be or suspected of being involved in criminal activities.   
g) In the event of an apprehension and detention order issuance, the agent must 

cooperate and provide any assistance to local law enforcement agencies in order to 
bring about the timely apprehension of the juvenile. 

 
19. The use of juveniles as informants or undercover agents is discouraged by the department.   

a) However, the department encourages juveniles under supervision to cooperate with 
law enforcement agencies.   

b) Juveniles are not provided with written permission to act as informants or 
undercover agents. 

c) A juvenile who acts as an informant or undercover agent must not violate the law 
or the conditions of probation.   
(1) Violations of the law or conditions of probation must be reported to the 

court.  
(2) If a juvenile participates as an informant or undercover agent, the 

participation must not serve as the basis for a recommendation to the court 
to reduce time under supervision. 

  
20. Apology letters  

a) A juvenile is frequently required to write apology letters to the juvenile’s victim(s).   
b) These letters may result from court orders, treatment or programming requirements, 

or other conditions of community supervision. 
c) Apology letters must communicate a full acknowledgement of fault, injury, 

responsibility, insult, and/or pain caused and must not be presented to the victim 
without the victim's expressed permission.   

d) Supervising agents must review and approve each letter before it is submitted to the 
victim, victim's family, or victim advocates. 

  
E. Out-of-home placements 

1. Out-of-home placements may be ordered by the court upon recommendation by the agent.   
 
2. Out-of-home placements are considered based on the seriousness of the offense, the risk 

the juvenile poses to the community, and/or whether behavior or treatment needs cannot be 
met within the community.   

 
3. Compliance with the Indian Child Welfare Act is required, when applicable. 



 
4. In accordance with Minn. Stat. §260C.157, subd. 3, the agent must present the juvenile's 

case to the county's pre-placement screening team, if the agent feels an out-of-home 
placement is warranted.   

 
5. If available, the agent must bring the following documents to help ascertain the extent out-

of-home placement is needed and the potential goals the resident may work on to address 
the criminogenic factors while in placement YLS/CMI 2.0, prior treatment/placement and 
offense history, Pre Disposition Reports, past psychological and treatment discharge 
reports, and past/current case plans.   

 
6. In addition, to support the findings of the court per Minnesota Rules for Juvenile Court 

15.05, the pre-placement screening team must consider the following:  
a) Why public safety and best interests are served by out of home placement, 

including seriousness of the alleged offense, the culpability of the resident in 
committing the alleged offense, prior criminal and treatment history; 

b) What alternative placements/options were considered, but not recommended; and  
c) The suitability of the placement, taking into account the program of the placement 

facility, assessment of the resident’s criminogenic needs, and least restrictive 
option available based on the resident’s public safety risk. 

 
7. If an out-of-home placement is then ordered by the court, the agent must coordinate the 

placement with the local DHS.  All out-of-home placements must have a placement plan 
that includes: 
a) The name, date of birth, and date of placement; 
b) The specific reasons for placement and goals based on the YLS/CMI 2.0;  
c) The description of the specific actions the parent or parents would take in order to 

eliminate or correct any identified problems or conditions; 
d) The time period during which the actions are to be taken; 
e) An outline as to the visitation rights and obligations during the period that the 

juvenile is in placement; 
f) The description of the social and other supportive services that must be provided to 

the parent, juvenile, and/or foster parent during the period that the juvenile is in the 
residential home, including the nature of the efforts to reunite the family; 

g) An outline of any financial responsibility or obligation to the parents; 
h) The expectation that the juvenile must correct any indicated problems; 
i) The date that the juvenile is expected to return to the parental home; 
j) The date the plan must be reviewed; and 
k) The signatures of the parents, agent, and juvenile. 
  

8. The agent assumes primary responsibility for discussing out-of-home placement with the 
juvenile’s parents or guardian. 

  
9. Prior to placement, the agent must establish who has the primary responsibility for 

providing direct service to the juvenile. 
  
10. The agent or field services staff assumes case responsibility and initiates contact with the 

juvenile placed in confinement within ten days of secure confinement. 
  



11. The placing authority (i.e., court or social service agency) may be authorized to remove 
any juvenile from a placement when there are substantial reasons to justify removal. 

  
12. Transfers between similar facilities or to less secure facilities may be permitted upon 

written notification from the agent to the parent or guardian of the juvenile.   
a) The decision to transfer must be jointly made by the agent and placement staff with 

the approval of the placing authority.   
b) The transfer decision must be documented in the juvenile’s case record. 

  
13. When a transfer from one community placement to another is planned, the juvenile 

involved in the transfer must be given an opportunity to make any objections known to the 
agent, placement staff, and the placing authority. 

  
14. The agent or other staff members must counsel the juvenile’s parents or guardian while the 

juvenile is in a residential facility, in preparation for his/her return home.  Provision may 
be made for trial visits before the juvenile’s final release. 

  
15. The agent must maintain monthly person-to-person contact with the juvenile while the 

juvenile is in an out-of home placement.  Telephone contact is considered a person-to-
person contact. 

  
16. When specific placement alternatives and/or services ordered by the court or releasing 

authority are not available to the juvenile, the agent must refer the matter back to the court 
or releasing authority for further dispositional considerations. 

  
17. It is common that a placement may be located in a county other than the county of the 

juvenile’s legal residence.  In cases when two counties are involved in a juvenile’s 
placement, the agent must: 
a) Include DHS from both counties in all correspondence regarding the placement;  
b) Include the receiving agent in all correspondence preceding a case transfer; and 
c) Ensure that residential placements are licensed according to the county of residence 

standards. 
  

18. Agents must not place a juvenile in a home prior to licensure. 
 

INTERNAL CONTROLS: 
A. Utilization of the YLS/CMI 2.0 determines the appropriate level of supervision, goals for case 

planning, and contact requirements.  Contact levels and reporting are retained in CSTS. 
 
B. Agents are audited at least annually to ensure compliance with policy regarding supervision and 

contact levels.  Case audits are retained in the employee’s supervisory file. 
 
ACA STANDARDS: Juvenile Probation Standards 2-7102, 2-2107, 2-7116 through 2-7120, 2-7122, 2-

7124 through 2-7126, 2-7129, 2-7130, 2-7131 through 2-7135, 2-7137 through 2-
7139, 2-7143 through 2-7145, 2-7153, 2-7154, 2-7156, 2-7158, 2-7171 through 2-
7174, 2-7181, 2-7182, 2-7184 through 2-7191, and 2-7198 

 
REFERENCES: Minn. Stat. Chapters 401; 611A; and 260, especially §§ 260B.157, subd. 1; 

260B.171, subd. 3, 260B.176, subd. 2, 260B.178, subd. 1, 260B.235, subd. 6, and 
260C.157, subd. 3; and § 244.195 



Policy 206.021, “Interstate Compact - Juvenile Community Supervision” 
Minnesota Rules of Juvenile Procedure 
Minnesota Department of Human Services bulletin #09-53-05 
 

REPLACES: Division Directive 201.110, “Juvenile Offender Probation Supervision,” 8/2/16.  
All facility policies, memos, or other communications whether verbal, written, or 
transmitted by electronic means regarding this topic. 

  
ATTACHMENTS: Notice to Victims of Offenses Committed by Juveniles (201.110A) 

Transfer Investigation Request (205.050H) 
Reply to Transfer Investigation Request (205.050I) 
Transfer of Case Assignment (205.050J) 
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